ERA News

After 45 years since Congress approved it and 37 years since its deadline, the Illinois House ratified the Equal Rights Amendment (ERA) on Wednesday, May 30, 2017 !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

The ERA was approved in the house by a 72-45 vote, making it the 37th state to ratify the amendment. The last state prior to Illinois to approve the ERA was Nevada in 2017.

The ERA proposes "Equality of rights under the law shall not be denied or abridged by the United States or by any state on account of sex." 

There are 13 U.S. states which are yet to ratify the ERA after it was passed by the Congress on March 22, 1972, following 84 to 8 votes in the Senate. The unratified states are Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, North Carolina, Oklahoma South Carolina, Utah and Virginia.

Contact Us Today!

Iowa NOW
3635 E 43rd Ct
Des Moines, IA 50317

(515) 265-3193

Print Print | Sitemap
Iowa NOW